Book Review

The Perks of being a Wallflower

April 25th, 2017   admin  Book Review   No Comments »

The Perks of being a Wallflower

One of the most inspirational books that every teenager should read is the “The perks of being a wallflower” by Stephen Chbosky. The book is based on a series of letters that Charlie writes to an anonymous person. Perks of being a wallflower follows observant “wallflower” Charlie as he charts a course through the strange world between adolescence and adulthood. First dates, family drama, and new friends, then Sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, last Devastating loss, young love, and life on the fringes. Caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it, Charlie must learn to navigate those wild and poignant roller-coaster days known as growing up.

A #1 New York Times bestseller for more than a year, an American Library Association Best Book for Young Adults (2000) and Best Book for Reluctant Readers (2000), and with millions of copies in print, this novel for teen readers (or “wallflowers” of more advanced age) will make you laugh, cry, and perhaps feel nostalgic for those moments when you, too, tiptoed onto the dance floor of life.

By: Emily Fermin

The Great Gatsby

March 20th, 2017   admin  Book Review   No Comments »

One of the books that people should read is “The Great Gatsby” by F. Scott Fitzgerald. It’s the spring of 1922, a wide-eyed Midwesterner Nick Carraway has just moved to New York City in pursuit of the American Dream. Settling into a home next door to wealthy Jay Gatsby Carraway grows increasingly fascinated by the elaborate parties held at his new neighbor’s estate. Meanwhile, across the bay, Carraway’s cousin Daisy flounders in her marriage to philandering aristocrat Tom Buchanan. Inspired by the debauchery on display at Gatsby’s wild parties and the lives of the wealthy elite, Carraway begins putting pen to paper as it gradually becomes clear that his cousin and the millionaire share a complicated romantic past that remains unresolved. Throughout the book Gatsby tries to rekindle his romantic relationship with Daisy but they have to go through many obstacles in order to be together. This book is a great book that contains romance, drama and suspense.

By: Emily Fermin

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

March 5th, 2017   admin  Book Review   No Comments »

 

The book is based on a boy named Bruno who is being forced to move far away due to his father’s military promotion. Bruno has to face leaving his old friends for a new life.  In his new home, Bruno see’s strange people from the other side of the fence. While he was exploring his backyard he notices a strange little boy on the other side of the fence.  Bruno becomes intrigued by the boy because he has a different life than his own and through numerous talks through the fence they become very close friends. In the end of the book, a traumatic event happens due to their friendship. This is book is an amazing book that will help people see the struggles that other people went through during the holocaust.

By: Emily Fermin

Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly

February 14th, 2017   admin  Uncategorized   No Comments »

An inspirational book that can positively influence women is “Hidden Figures” by Margot Lee Shetterly of which had a film based on her book released this past January. “It focuses particularly on black women who served as human computers as they performed calculations at Langley Air Force Base in Virginia during and after World War II. During the war, the United States was desperate for mathematicians and engineers to work in aeronautics. With many men fighting in the war, women took on professional jobs” (Instaread). These women were Dorothy, Katherine and Mary and they were crucial in helping the United States win the space race against the Soviet Union.  Dorothy and Katherine were mathematicians while Mary was an engineer at NASA. The narrative of the book is trying to convey that women are capable of doing the same job as men.

By:
Emily Fermin

“Summary, Analysis & Review of Margot Lee Shetterly’s Hidden Figures by Instaread.” Instaread: 9781539593171. Createspace Independent Publishing Platform, 17 Oct. 2016. Web. 13 Feb. 2017.

A Dog’s Purpose

January 7th, 2017   admin  Book Review   No Comments »

This week’s book recommendation may sound familiar! You may have already seen commercials for the screen adaptation directed by Lasse Hallström. Authored by W. Bruce Cameron, A Dog’s Purpose shares the emotional and humorous story of a dog’s soul and it’s many lives. Told from a dog’s perspective, the novel explores the incomparable and beautiful relationship between man and man’s best friend! After seeing multiple trailers for the film and reading the novel’s synopsis, my curiosity got the best of me and I decided to purchase the novel. After opening the book for the first time I knew it was going to stir me up inside. As an animal lover myself, a vegetariann , and overall animal rights activist, I can say that this book will change your life. You will be given a whole new persepctive on life. You will be reminded  that love never dies, even after death your loved ones are still with you, and that every creature that has lived, lives, or will lives is born with a purpose and a soul. I highly recommend this wonderful and heartwarming novel for everyone and hope you will find hope, peace, love, laughter, and purpose. A Dog’s Purpose is available almost everywhere books are sold and the film is set to be released on January 27, 2017.

 

Article by:
Gerard G

My Sister’s Keeper

December 27th, 2016   admin  Book Review   No Comments »

 

Do you like attention grabbing, emotional, heartfelt books? If your answer is yes, I would highly recommend you read My Sister’s Keeper. This book is one of the best-selling books of all time. Its rate is listed as 4 and a half stars. This amazing book was written by Jodi Picoult. If you plan on reading this book I would advise you to grab a box of tissues. This book is about a family that has 3 kids which Kate who is the oldest sister has been fighting leukemia since she was a child. Her sister Anna was born to be a source of spare parts for her dying sister. Anna was subjected to major procedure since she was born. She’s donated blood, bone marrow, stem cells and then was told she had to donate one of her kidneys. At the age of eleven years old, she began to get tired of it resulting in a lawsuit against her mother and father. Her sister Kate told her to take it to court because she was tired of fighting for her life and hurting her younger sister. Their brother is an intelligent young man who often feels invisible to his parents. All the siblings understood each other and loved one another dearly.

This book is heart breaking and you find yourself trying to see things from each perspective. It’s crazy to think that this is a realistic situation probably happening as we speak somewhere in the world right now. If you read this book, you will definitely be satisfied. You may even appreciate the small things in life rather than take what you have for granted after reading My Sisters Keeper.

Article By:
Miranda Gibbs

BOOK OF THE MONTH: DECEMBER 2016

December 15th, 2016   admin  Book Review   No Comments »

 

The Athena Doctrine: How Women (and the Men Who Think Like Them) Will Rule the Future

 by: John Gerzema & Michael D’Antonio

Well…if this book doesn’t inspire you, I don’t know what will. Page after page of facts and tangible evidence forces the reader to accept a paradigm unknown: the world would be a better place if men thought more like women. Throughout their writings, John Gerzema and Michael D’Antonio provide first hand accounts of success linked to traditionally feminine ideas of operation. Gerzema and D’Antonio also recount stories as told by women and men who lead businesses, new ventures, government and nonprofit agencies and community groups. One reader had this to say, “We often think of men as strong and smart, that is why most positions of power are held by men…but what people often overlook is how stubborn and confrontational men can be. Men are more likely to take criticism as an attack on their ‘manhood’ and will do just about anything to defend it. What happens when these men are put into positions of power? War. Death. Economic Depression. Place a women into power…and you get success and prosperity. Women don’t take criticism as attacks on their ‘manhood.’ Instead they look for solutions, get sh*t done, and they don’t complain.” The Athena Doctrine provides for new ways to solve the world’s toughest issues in all aspects of life. I highly recommend this book and look forward to hearing what you think!

 by:

 Gerard Gagliano

Me Before You by Jojo Mayes

June 4th, 2016   admin  Book Review   No Comments »

Me-Before-You-book-cover-Jan-12-p122

As much as I like a good love story, I wouldn’t call myself a romantic. Emotionally manipulative books that feel as if the author set out with an agenda to tug at my heart strings – that would be up there with the worst. I guess I subconsciously rebel when I can see what the author’s trying to do to my feelings. I avoid a lot of adult chick lit for this reason – because experience has shown that most of these books are like Lifetime movies: melodramatic and cheesily message-driven. But somehow – despite my reluctance to try this book because it seemed it would fall into all the aforementioned boxes – I ended up caving under the pressure and grabbing this book from my local library. I didn’t expect much. I was just going to try a little bit and see how it went, feeling confident that it would be crappy and I would be right. But hell, I got schooled.

“Me Before You” is a love story and a family story, but above all it’s a story of the bravery and sustained effort needed to redirect the path of a life once it’s been pushed off course.  The whole book was filled with the funny, ridiculous situations that we expect to find in comic fiction, but balanced out with a hard dose of reality. It makes you think about things you didn’t think about before without seeming like the author wanted to make you think about them. Things like just how depressing the lack of wheelchair access is in most venues. But there’s a great balance between the funny and the serious, so the latter never becomes too much. Love was found in a very unexpected place and I definitely want to check out the author’s other work.

 

Article by:
Bryan Vallejo

The Fault of our Stars

January 8th, 2015   admin  Book Review   No Comments »

Book Review

John Greene’s most well-known book so far is probably this one, The Fault In Our Stars. The story is that of a girl named Hazel who has cancer and meets a boy named Augustus who she falls in love with. The two of them try to deal with cancer, love, and books. The whole story is beautifully written and is just breathtaking. I thought the plot was wonderful, the characters were absolutely believable and you do completely fall in love with them. Hazel and Augustus are fantastically drawn and the voice of them both is very funny and very well done. It is not a sick lit novel, despite having many of the trappings associated with this type of genre, it is a story about two people in love, one of whom has cancer. It has a very deep content which it discusses the meaning of life and death.

I would recommend this book to everyone. It is beautiful, enthralling, funny and just fantastic. It shows how a short life can feel like an eternity just with the amazing moments of life that simply take your breath away. It entertains and educates and offers a jumping off point for young people to explore and discuss important issues.

 

Article by:
Jennifer Montero

“Love Letters to the Dead” by Ava Dellaira

November 29th, 2014   admin  Book Review   No Comments »

LLTTD_cover

 

This Novel tells the story of Laurel who is asked as an English assignment to write a letter to a dead person. Laurel begins by choosing Kurt Cobain for various reasons, her sister May loved him and they both passed away at a young age. Laurel has many letters already written which she never gives to her teacher. She writes about all of the transitions in her life, things like starting high school, friendships, love and of course the grieving of her sister. So in writing these letters to dead people we uncover the truth behind all of Laurel’s issues and inner deep thoughts. Through her letters to people who will never read them Ava takes us on Laurel’s journey through her life changes. This book is raw and completely beautiful. Reading this book makes you feel like a teen again and relate to the things many teenagers go through at these important points of life. Definitely a must read!

 

Article by:
Jennifer Montero